Adding a fade to a digital write

I’m new to Arduino, so please excuse if this is a newb question. I’m trying to add a fade time of 4 seconds to this code that I found from Robojax. I like the way that it currently works however, I’d like the would like the LED to fade up in 4 seconds on the first push, and then fade out in 4 seconds when the button is pushed again. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

int pbuttonPin = 2;// connect output to push button
int ledPin = 9;// Connected to relay (LED)

int val = 0; // push value from pin 2
int lightON = 0;//light status
int pushed = 0;//push status

void setup() {
  // Robojax.com code and video tutorial for push button ON and OFF
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(pbuttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP); 
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
 digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);// keep the load OFF at the begining. If you wanted to be ON, change the HIGH to LOW
}

void loop() {
  val = digitalRead(pbuttonPin);// read the push button value

if(val == HIGH && lightON == LOW){

pushed = 1-pushed;
    delay(100);
  }    

lightON = val;

if(pushed == HIGH){
        Serial.println("Light ON");
        digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); 
      }else{
        Serial.println("Light OFF");
        digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);

}     

delay(100);

Hello.