...a most likely dumb question

Hi all,
I’m fairly new to the Baby O (blue), but I’ve accomplished a lot in the last few weeks. I’ve gotten to the point of now trying to break away from the bread board and controlling the Baby O in a stand alone circuit.
The problem I’m having is that I have discovered that the Baby O won’t execute code if the USB programmer is disconnected. When it is connected it works fine…not connected…not fine.

What is it that I’m missing here? At this point all that I want to do is download the code into the baby O, disconnect and let her run. There’s got to be something I’m not doing.

Btw, I’m using Studio 4.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks!

David

Hello.

I have a few questions that will hopefully help me narrow down the problem:

1. What is your Baby Orangutan programmed to do? What cues tell you that it’s working or not?
  2. What are you using as your Baby Orangutan’s power source and how is it connected to your Baby Orangutan?
  3. Do you have anything connected to the Baby Orangutan’s reset line?

- Ben

Thanks Ben,
As it turns out I was right…re: “it was probably a dumb question”. Right now both circuits are working…the breadboard and the actual. I can’t explain what the problem was, I was panicking thinking it was a setup error in Studio or something.

The circuit is driving a stepper motor on 12 vdc nicads. After initialization, I have the stepper locate the limit switches (180 degrees apart), then center between them. The reset line is tied high with a 4.7K resistor. The problem was that only when the usb programmer cable was connected would it run the code. If I disconnected it (after downloading the code to the Baby O), powered off, and back on,it would not run the code…no stepper movement. If I reconnected the usb programmer cable, powered back up, it would then work and execute the code.

Strange… it did this in both the breadboard circuit and the stand alone circuit. I can’t explain it.

David

Hey David,