6 Channel maestro with openFrameWorks

Hello everyone,

A few months ago i purchased the 6 Channel Maestro, I started programming with Visual Basic and i succeeded in building a pretty neat movement sequencer based on timers with even intervals. The problem with VB was that it did not support the graphics (which are supposed to be synchronised with servo movements) i needed. I was using VB in combination with Flash and encoutered severe problems when it comes to the difference of timer resolution from both platforms.

So i started over with openFrameWorks which has a serial library and a LOT of graphic abillities. This is the script i am using (i ripped the numbers from https://www.pololu.com/docs/0J40/5.h.1).

.cpp

maestrodevice.listDevices();
vector <ofSerialDeviceInfo> deviceList = maestrodevice.getDeviceList();

maestrodevice.setup("COM3",9600);

maestrodevice.writeByte(0xAA);
maestrodevice.writeByte(0x0C);
maestrodevice.writeByte(0x04);
maestrodevice.writeByte(0x00);
maestrodevice.writeByte(0x20);
maestrodevice.writeByte(0x1F);

Only useful declaration in .h

ofSerial maestrodevice;

Thats for introduction; this actually sets the servo target and it worked.Though i have the following questions.

• Maestro control center gives me the following error: Serial protocol error 0x0010. What is the cause of this error?

• Do i need to close the serial connection for every set of bytes i wrote to the Maestro?

• What command is meant for disabling the given channel? Im working with ‘hacked’ servos, the mechanical stops have been removed and instead of a potentiometer i soldered in two resistors. I suppose there is a command for disableing the channel, it works more accurate for me.

And off-topic (i guess); does the use of hacked servo’s cause any threat to the Maestro itself?

Greetings and thanks in advance, Tom
and oh yeah, my technical-english might be a little bit off.