3pi + bluetooth

Hello.

I am planning to use bluetooth communication with info updating on my netbook rather than on the small lcd onboard the 3pi. But I have no experience with communication for the 3pi, but from what I can see in the schematic the 2 lines for tx and rx are free for use and that Pololu provides a lib. for serial communication.

The info I want on my netbook is:
battery status, engine speed for left and right and updates for the onboard sensors.
More or less the same info as on the lcd in the sample projects.

My questions:
Do you have any experince from this that you would like to share?
Wich bluetooth/serial module is a good choice?

I am thinking about buying the Bluesmirf module from a local shop. Is this an easy module to start with?

Regards - Swe.

The Ezurio modules : www1.elfa.se/data1/wwwroot/webr … 300718.pdf

Are they a better choice?

Hello,

The only experience I have with wireless is that a member of LVBots (the local robotics club here) added an XBee module to his 3pi. He bought two XBee modules and two carrier board kits from Adafruit. I think that the XBee modules can act as a virtual serial port to your netbook.

- Ryan

Good tip!

I have to read some more on Xbee before I decide wich one to use.
Anyone with some programming advice regarding communication with 3pi? Has anyone tried it yet in any way?

Hello,

Have you looked at our example serial slave program for the 3pi? You could start by programming your 3pi with that code and using your programmer (do you have a Pololu programmer?) as a USB-to-serial adapter for communicating with it over a wire.

-Paul

Aha, ok I got it, so I can use another AVR and connect for example more sensors and let the slave mcu control them and let the 3pi controle via serial commands this slave mcu. All I have to do is get an additional pcb for the 3pi and more stuff on top :slight_smile: