Micro serial servo controller

Hi all,
I’m a beginner in robotics and just purchased a micro ssc. how do I interface it with my laptop. Do I need to purchase a special connector cable to connect it to my laptop? Also once its connected, are both the controller and my servo being powered by my laptop? This may seem very basic but as I said, I’m a beginner. Thanks
Damola

Hi Damola,
Don’t worry about asking basic questions, that’s how you find out basic answers!

First off, how you interface the uSSC with your laptop will depend on weather or not it has a serial port. If it does, you will need to connect just two of it’s nine pins to the uSSC. There isn’t a special cable you can buy, but you can cut up any old serial cable to get at the two wires you need.

The serial port and/or the cable you cut up should have little numbers printed by the pins. Pin 3 of your laptop serial port is the RS-232 transmit line, and should be connected to the RS-232 Serial Input pin on the uSSC. Pin 5 is ground, and should be connected to a GND pin on the uSSC (like the one next to the RS-232 Input Pin).

If your laptop is lacking a serial port (as so many are these days) then you will need a USB to Serial adapter, like this one from Pololu. How you connect an adapter to your uSSC will depend on exactily what kind of adapter you get, so lets deal with that later.

As for power, you will need one or two sources of it, one to run the electronics of your uSSC, and one to actually power the motors. The electronics need 5V to 16V connected between the VIN pin and ground, and the servos need 4V to 6V connected between the servo power pin and Ground. You can actually use one power source between 5V and 6V to power both the servos and the electronics. You can either connect this source to both sets of power pins, or just to the servo power pins if you also connect the Vcc=Vs pins.

If that’s not completely clear, I made this little graphic for a previous post: