Wiring & Power Supply

I have a TReX Jr Dual Motor controller with 2 x 100:1 Mini Metal Gearmotors (Key specs at 6 V: 140 RPM and 90 mA free-run, 15 oz-in (1.0 kg-cm) and 0.8 A stall). Will be connecting 2 10k pots to the motor controller. Can someone recommend the appropriate wires/connectors & batteries to power this setup. Did I mention I need to run the motors continuously for an hour. As you can tell I’m a beginner at this, so should you need additional info regarding application I’ll be more than happy to comply.

Thanks!

Hello.

What is the purpose of your two 10k pots and how are you planning to connect them?

If you need the motors to run for an hour, you need a battery that has a high enough capacity to run the motors and the controllers. First, you should figure out how much current your system will use while it is running. You can measure the current drawn from a battery with a multimeter. If you find your system draws 700 mA, for example, you will need a battery that has at least a 700 mAh capacity. Please note that the current drawn by the motors will very with the load applied to them.

- Ryan

Hi Ryan, the 2 10k pots will be used to control the speed of the two motors and will be connected to two of the analog (- + signal) terminals of the motor controller. What kind of wire & connector should I aquire? Thanks.

-Horus

You haven’t given enough information about your project to give great advice about wires and connectors. What are your motors doing? What is the goal of your project?

For the motors you could do something like this picture:

I made that using pre-crimped wires and crimp connector housings along with some soldering.

Our premium jumper wires might work well for your other connections.

- Ryan