What type of motor controller?

I am extremely new to designing motor circuits and things of this sort. I have an AVR Butterfly and was hoping to connect it to something like the motors shown here:

pololu.com/catalog/product/1060/

My two questions are, what type of motor controller is sufficient, and what measures do i need to take in protecting the microcontroller (ATMega169) from current spikes. Ive seen a huge variance in price and features with these motor controllers and know very little about the topic. I’m mainly looking for a cheap motor controller that i can use and not destroy my avr in the process. Any help to get me started is greatly appreciated, thanks.

If your Micro controller doesn’t support motor controllers directly like the orangutan i’d personally suggest this one.
pololu.com/catalog/product/120
The low voltage dual serial motor controller.

It can handle high frequencies, as well as put out a good 5amps per motor.
The other 2 cheaper dual motor controllers the micro dual, and the qik 2s9v1 both have 1A limits. So that’s a bit low.

PS check the video for that chassis, make sure you’re ok with how noisy it is.

For motor noise, use 0.1uF ciramic disc capacitors. you can use 1 or 3 on each motor.

Hello cloney_,
The motor controller that will work best for you depends mainly on your choice of motors and your power supply. It is a good idea to write down exactly what your voltage and current requirements are, so that you can make sure that whatever motor controller you get can handle both. In your case, it sounds like you will have:

Power: 6 NiMH cells: 7-9 V depending on charge.
Motors: RP5 tank chassis motors with 210 mA up to 2.4 A stall at 7.2 V (higher if your batteries are fully charged.)