Using/Powering the VHN2SP30

Hello,

I ordered a VHN2SP30 MDO3A motor driver and would like to use it in conjunction with an Arduino UNO board. The Arduino is being powered by my computer through a USB cord. My understanding is that the cord provides 5V to the board. I have connected the Arduino 5V pin to the +5IN pin on the VHN2SP30 and the Arduino GND to the GND on the right of the VHN2SP30 +5IN pin. For testing purposes, I connected a 9V battery to the VIN and GND pins on the VHN2SP30 designated for the motors and I connected a small DC motor to the A and B connections to the right of the VIN and GND pins.

Now for my very noob question. How do I know the VHN2SP30 is on? No LEDs are lit on the driver and of course when I run my Arduino code, the motor does nothing. I am still very new to this level of electronics and I would greatly appreciate some help. Is it possible that I may have burnt the VHN2SP30 somehow?

Hello.