Step motors

hello,

I am new to robots but my friend and I decided to go for small project.

I will now describe here the whole project, but I have a few questions that I hope you guys can give me the answer to:

1. I need a step motor that can give me about 5-10W. how much such thing should cost?

2. how accurate the step motors are? I need it to be able to move on a track with the accuracy of 1-2mm (about 1 degree). Are there any step motors with this accuracy with a sane price tag? what is the “standard”?

3. can you give me a recommendation for a controller that connects to a computer and has the ability to control 3 step motors? If I use motors of 5-10W, will i need an external power source or the controller will be able to use power from the computer?

That’s all for now. I know that the questions are very general, but I have now clue where to start and i think you guys can help me.

thanks in advence,
eliminator1.

1. You can get 5-10 Watt stepper motors for $20-$30 dollars, or for free if you scavenge them. Whenever I see a printer or scanner headed for (or already in) a dumpster I always grab the stepper motors out of it. Some are junkey, but I’ve found nice motors this way as well, some even have manufacturer’s markings on them so I can look up the specs:

You can also salvage other useful parts like timing belts, mounting brackets, linear bearings, etc…