SMC04A 30A Motor controller

Has anyone ever tried rigging one of the SMC04As up to an airplane motor – more specifically, the Astroflight 020 Brushless model? If you’ve not used this particular model, but had success with another brand / model, could you let me know?

The documentation from Astroflight is practically nonexistant and I’ve never used an electronic airplane motor before so I’m not sure what the third wire on the motor is for. I may be missing something :wink:

My SMC04A just lights up the yellow LED when I turn it on and I’m not quite sure what I’m missing…

:smiley:

Thanks in advance!

-John

The SMC04 is a very nice controller with a lot of features, but it is only set up to control DC brush-motors. It outputs a single PWM power signal, which makes the motor act as if you were controlling the voltage you applied to it (which you are, sort of). The Astro Flight 020 is a three phase brushless motor, which needs three separate power signals, with some interesting timing and duty-cycle control.