Sloppy joystick control

I am using a small thumb joystick to control 2 continuous rotation servos with a maestro. I basically accomplished that but the joystick middle point is sloppy so it doesn’t always return to center and the servos continue to move. Is there anyway to create neutral minimums and maximums so the servos won’t start moving till they are reached to smooth out values from the sloppy pots and mechanics of the joystick?

Hello.

The Maestro does not have a built-in way to configure a dead zone like that from the Maestro Control Center. However, this is something you could probably do in your code. For example, you could have the analog feedback from your joysticks map to the neutral point if it is between some set range of values.

-Brandon

Thanks Brandon for getting back. It sounds good but some what over my head. I’m new to programming but learn fairly well from examples are there any you can point me at showing this?

Hi.

The examples given under the “Using an analog input to control servos” heading in the Example Scripts section of the Maestro User’s Guide would probably be helpful in setting up a dead zone with a Maestro script. The first example shows how to scale the analog input to a servo output, and the second example shows how to set different servo outputs for different ranges of inputs.

-Claire

I saw those examples and used the first to implement the joystick as controller for the servo. I just don’t get how to apply the second to creating a dead zone. Here is an example of script for a servo and pot pair I’m using. What would I add? I’m using continuous rotation servos if that matters. I set the 4 times to 1 to slow it down and set the 4000 value to 5500 which seemed to better match center of my servo pots neutral position.

# Sets servo 0 to a position based on an analog input.
  1 get_position # get the value of the pot, 0-1023
  1 times 5500 plus # scale it to 64-4080, approximately 1-2 ms