Simple Modification of example script

Hi,

i am new in programming Pololu-Servocontroller and need little help modifying the example script
pololu.com/docs/0J40/6.c
Using multiple buttons or switches to control servos

I would like to add a simple routine which let the user switch the servo with two additional buttons to two additional positions as long as another analog-input gets an external triggersignal.
If there is no triggersignal at this input, the script should function as in the example script and the two additional Buttons should not be regarded.

May someone help me?

Thanks and greets,
Claas

Hello, Claas.

To modify the script to allow the user to activate two additional buttons with an external trigger, I recommend adding separate subroutines like the ones already given in the example for handling servo movements and detecting pushes from the additional buttons and your external trigger. The subroutine for detecting the external trigger could be basically the same as the routine for button_a that is given in the example, and you could check for that trigger with lines similar to those in the first code block of the example.

If you try making a script with that added functionality and have trouble, you could post it, and I would be happy to take a look at it.

-Amanda

Hi Amanda,

thanks for that!
I had the same thoughts and i already made a script with just two buttons and the triggerinput also as a button.
It works for a numer of trys, than i got an error (subroutine call under/overflow.)
Maybe one can do it using

3 get_position  # get the value of input 3 as a number from 0 to 1023
512 less_than   # test whether it is less than 512 -> 1 if true, 0 if false
if
  6000 5 servo   # this part is run when input3 < 512
else
  7000 5 servo   # this part is run when input3 >= 512
endif