Simple High-Power Motor Controller (SMC) 18v25

Hi,
I’m very new to python however i am given to work with Simple High-Power Motor Controller (SMC) 18v25 which is connected to a motor and a limiting switch. I need to write a program in python to simply move the motor until the limiting switch is pressed and the motor will stop. How do i start? :cry:

Hello.

If you are not familiar with Python, then you should start there. I recommend looking at the beginner’s guide on the official Python website to help you get started. You can see the full documentation for Python here.

Once you get familiar and comfortable with the language, you can start writing a simple program to control the simple motor controller (SMC) by sending it a few commands via its serial interface. You might consider looking at maestro.py, which is a Python class written by one of our forum members that controls our Maestro servo controller via its serial interface. The Maestro uses the same communication protocols as the SMC, so looking at the class’ functions should give you an idea of how to send serial commands in Python. If you have not done so already, you should familiarize yourself with the SMC’s serial interface by reading through the “Using the Serial Interface” section of its user’s guide.

By the way, you can try using the Serial Transmitter Utility to get better acquainted with the SMC’s serial commands and figure out what commands you need to send to get the desired behavior.

- Amanda

I still can’t solve the maestro.py problem

I can’t seem to solve the “UserWarning: Unknown distribution option: 'use_2to3” problem

From the output, it looks like pyserial is installed. I was able to reproduce the warning on my VirtualBox running Ubuntu 16.04 but was able to run a test script with maestro.py without any other complications. If you have pip installed, you can run pip freeze in a terminal to see if pyserial is installed and which version.