Servo Controller

I am new to the robotic world, but a friend and I are making one. We need something that will take input from four sensors measuring the speed of four individual shafts (one sensor per shaft) and will then tell five servos what to do. However, it has to compare the speeds. What happens is two sensors are for the front wheels of the robot, the other two are for the rear wheels. If, for the fronts, the sensors indicate that one wheels is spinning faster, it has to engage one of the five servos. The same applies for the rears. However, if there is a servo that is on in the back, and a servo in the front that is on, the fifth servo has to be engaged. Is this possible from a servo controller, or is it a job for a microcontroller? How would I program it?

Thank you
Aykalper

Hi Aykalper,

A serial servo controller generates control signals for servos in response to serial commands. They are quite useful, but they’re basically just translators from serial data (digital bytes) to hobby servo signals (timed pulses), and don’t do anything all that intelligent on their own like reading sensors or making decisions.

What you’re describing is very doable with a microcontroller, which would read your sensors, and make servo position decisions based on those readings. There are plenty of microcontrollers out there, so what kind you might want to try depends on a couple of things, such as what kind of wheel speed sensor you’re using (probably a simple encoder with some number of high/low pulses per revolution, but I don’t want to assume), what (if any) programming languages you’re familiar with, and how much money you’re willing to spend.