Sd card

hi if i put a few music tracks on an sd card, name say 1.mp3, 2.mp3 and 3.mp3 what steps would i have to go about to get the mega8 to play the tracks through a 3.5mm audio jack, say if you pressed a push button the first track would play etc. i dont need an lcd or anything, just very basic.

thanks
alex

Hello.

Reading and SD card and playing an MP3 are going to be anything but basic. If you want to make things significantly easier, you can buy a chip that is designed to interface with SD cards and another that is designed to play MP3s, and then use your mega8 to control those ICs.

- Ben

well that sounds easy enough… is there an example you know of anywhere?

I found this:
electronicdesign.com/Articles/In … cleID=6160

does anyone have any ideas of how the circuitry would look between this, an SD card and the mega8 to play through headphones???

I have no experience with reading SD cards and playing MP3s using microcontrollers, so I can’t really give you much help. If I were in your position I would google around to find out what ICs are out there that might fit my needs, and then I would read their datasheets to learn how to interface with them. Once you find a part number, you can usually google for that part number (e.g. “VNH2SP30 datasheet”) to find its datasheet. You can also often find the part and its datasheet at digikey.com.

- Ben

Sparkfun has a ‘ready to go’ board here. It’s built to interface with an ARM microcontroller, so it might be a pain to run it from an AVR, but it also has a little multi-switch that you can use to perform basic play/pause type functions directly. They say it has an SD-card socket, I guess it’s on the other side?

-Adam

wow thats perfect adam thanks… it says you can plug in a uext connection to control from microcontroller, is it hard to control arm from avr? will there be a library for controlling it?