Qik2s9v1 Issue

I have a an issue with one of my Qik2s9v1. I have 5v going to power the controller from one source and 9.5v powering the motor side of the controller from another source. When I send commands to each motor seperately they work fine. When I send comands to both motors at the same time, the 9.5v power conections drops to less than a volt and ofcourse it does nothing. I have to unplug the 9.5 battery source and plug it back in to get it to go back to the 9.5v output.

This same setup works fine with another Qik2s9v1. The Demo mode does not seem to work all that well either, it is really slow to start. These are both brand new controllers. I ordered one to replace it as I really need to get this going. Looks like I will have to rebuild my entire curcuit as I am not good at desoldering. :frowning:

Any Ideas?

Hello.

Your description of the problem makes it sound like you have a short between the motor driver outputs of your misbehaving qik. Can you use a multimeter to check for shorts? Is it possible that the qik is sitting on a conductive surface that is shorting the leads together or that you have an unintentional solder bridge between the driver outputs? It would be helpful if you could post a picture of your setup.

- Ben

I did not have physical short with my setup. Setting the max speed on M1 to 127 caused my system to short out. When I dropped the max speed to 90, it worked fine.

Thank you.

Those test results are indicative of a power supply issue, not a short; it seems like your power supply simply cannot deliver the power your motor is trying to draw when you set the speed above 90 or when you use two motors. What kind of battery are you using and what are the specs of the motors you are using (e.g. stall current).

- Ben