Qik 2s9v1 Demo mode

Just doing some initial testing with the motor controller and a BS2. Documentation states that in demo mode any serial data received on the RX line will be echoed on TX line.

I have the following connections:
GND - BS2 Vss
Vcc - BS2 Vdd
RX - BS2 Pin 1
TX - BS2 Pin2
RESET - BS2 Pin 0
Jumper between pins A and B

I am then using the following code

’ Reset Qik
LOW 0
HIGH 0

'detect baud rate’
SEROUT 2, 84, [$AA]
'send out a data byte’
SEROUT 2, 84, [65]
'read back echo’
SERIN 1, 84, [echo]
'print echo’
DEBUG "serin = ", DEC echo, CR

The only thing I get back is
serin = 0

Any insight would be appreciated.

Hello.

The qik echoes the byte as it receives it, just as if you had connected your transmit line on your BS2 directly to your receive line. What happens if you temporarily remove the qik from the system and just connect your BS2 transmit pin to your BS2 receive pin? I have no experience with the BS2, but I am under the impression that it is not capable of simultaneously transmitting and receiving. Is this correct? If so, it would explain why you aren’t getting the echoed bytes from the qik, and it would mean you should see the same behavior when you bypass the qik and just connect transmit directly to receive on your BS2.

- Ben

Hi Ben -

Thanks for the information. You were correct. Checking the TX line on the scope verifies that the echo is working correctly.
This leads into the next question. With my board in demo mode - I am not getting power to either M0 or M1.
The board LED’s indicate that the board is cycling in demo mode. I have an independent 9V battery connected to motor supply GND and VMOT and both M0 and M1 have motors connected (each is a Pololu #995 Micro Metal Gear Motor).
I am not getting any voltage across either motor - verified by checking with my scope.

Is it possible that I received a dead board?

Thanks