New User Questions

I am a student at Auburn University and I’m working on a project that requires the use of servomotors. I have to admit that I have very little experience with robotics and electronics.

We purchased a USB 16-Servo Controller for the project. I was wondering if there are any tutorials on how to use the Pololu Serial Transmitter software that comes along with the hardware? I understand its a very simple request, but I am not sure where to even begin. Any help would be appreciated.

Hello.

You control the servo controller by sending it commands, which are sequences of bytes. The commands are covered in the manual. The simplest one is in the Mini SSC II mode (put on the blue shorting block), where you just send three bytes: 255, the servo number, and the servo position. To try that with the serial transmitter utility, put the three numbers in a 3-byte command row, push the button, and the three bytes will be set. For example, sending 255, 0, 0 will move servo 0 to one extreme, and sending 255, 0, 254 will move it to the other extreme (the 255 is a special byte that you can’t use for servo number or position).

- Jan

I used the 3-byte command, but now I am experiencing a different sort of problem. I can manually type in different positions (0-254) to send the motor, but sporadically receive a fatal error. Just by resetting the board and sending the same command, the motor responds properly. For instance, I had a servo attached to connection 15 and here are the results:

255 15 180 Success
255 15 100 Success
255 15 213 Success
255 15 72 Failure
UNPLUG
255 15 72 Success

That’s strange. What is your power setup?

- Jan

We are using a 6-Volt AC/DC converter running straight from the wall into the controller board. We also have a USB connection from the computer into the board.