New to robots

Hi everyone. I have spent the last few days looking up on robots, and would love to build one. I have about 15 years experience with rc cars, planes, and helicopters. Other than that dont have much knowledge on robots. Couls any of you give me a few suggestions on how to get into this. Weather i should get a kit or first try a few very simple home built bots. Thanks for any comments.

Well the RC background will certainly serve you well, but I think the real question is what you’re interested in doing. I think there are two main ways to proceed from where you are, a kit approach and a project approach.

You can probably skip the beginners kits (basic soldering, mechanical linkages, simple DC and servo motor control) but there are a whole lot of medium to advanced kits that come with text-books rather than instruction sheets. Many of these focus more on homebrew embedded electronics and microcontroller programming that you may not be as familiar with yet. You don’t end up with an awesome robot right away, but you build up a foundation of knowledge and avoid a lot of pitfalls later. If you’re interested I have a couple to recommend, one is a more general embedded electronics overview, and one is much more specific to microcontroller programming and I/O.

The other approach is to dive into a project that excites you, even if it is technically over your head right now, and figure out what you don’t know as you go (web searches, robotics forums, etc…). If you’re thinking about getting into robotics because of an interest in a specific kind of robot (i.e. I’d really like to build a walking robot, or mount a robot arm on the back of an RC car, etc…) this would totally be the way to go.