Need help/advice on a line following bot

Hey all, I am a student at ITT in my 7th (of 8) quarter and am wanting to build a line follower for my final project. I think I have figured out my parts list so far. One stipulation is we have to use the schools 8051 board and use assembly for code. So far parts wise this is what I think I will use.
motor #1585 x2
80mmx10mm wheels #1430
front caster #66
motor driver #tb6612fng
sensor array #961

I am going to build my chassis out of lexan.
Am I going in the right direction or am I way off line.
Thanks all for any input.

Hello.

I think you can make those parts work, but you might be going bigger than you need to, and your motors could potentially be pushing the abilities of the motor driver you have selected. I would suggest using our 50:1 HP micro metal gearmotors at 6 V with our 42x19mm wheels. This will give you a top speed that is almost three times as fast as the top speed you could get with your selected 25D motors and 80mm wheels with less potential to exceed the capabilities of the TB6612 driver. Note that these motors still have stall currents above what the TB6612 can deliver continuously, so you should take care not to stall them for any prolonged period of time if you use them, or you should go with a more powerful driver if you anticipate such stalling.

The sensor array version you’ve chosen will work (and it is the version we slightly prefer), but note that it might be more difficult to read in assembly than the A (analog) version since it requires generating an output pulse and then timing the resulting voltage decay.

- Ben

Thanks,