Motor Torque Questions and Motor Controller Compatibility

Hi,

I am building a robot meant to move rice from one end of a ramp to another. It is my first project ever, so I am unsure if I am doing this completely correct. It is approximated at 20-25 pounds, uses a 12V DC battery supply (AA batteries) and must have the following requirements;

torque range: 2.9865 ~ 3.7331 lb-ft (573.408 ~ 716.755 oz-in)
rpm range: 54.7393 ~ 65.4809 RPM
power range: 0.0311 ~ 0.0465 hP (23.2114 ~ 34.7077 W)

for two motors, the requirements are:
torque range: 1.49325 ~ 1.86655 lb-ft
power range: 0.01555 ~ 0.02325 hP (11.6057 ~ 17.35385 W)

These requirements are for the whole robot, so if I use two motors, I’m assuming the requirements can be cut in half between the two motors; similarly for four motors.

I was thinking of using this motor (if I were using two):
https://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1447
Can anyone suggest a better one to fit the requirements?

I am a little unsure on what parameters to be looking for in a motor controller (I’m guessing power and current? anything else?) and I was wondering which of these may work:
http://www.robotshop.com/pololu-high-current-motor-driver-14.html
http://www.robotshop.com/pololu-trex-jr-motor-controller-1.html

What do you guys think? Will these work? Am I even doing this right? Thanks for any suggestions.

-ibuki7x

Hello,

Since you already emailed and called about this, I will keep this response short, but for anybody else who cares, two of the 131:1 Metal Gearmotor 37Dx57L mm are not strong enough for these requirements. Unfortunately, we do not have any stronger options.

For choosing a motor controller, yes, you should start by making sure it can handle the voltage and current required for you motors. You should also decide whether you want a motor driver or a motor controller (you linked to one of each kind); we list the basic differences between the two here.

-Emily

Hi Emily,