Micro serial servo ctrl questions

I am a hobbyist trying to use a serial servo controller to control 2 servos (GWS Mini Std & S04 BBM) via Matlab serial i/o. I’m having some difficulties…

1. What specifically causes some of the LED colors? I see the fatal error code (constant yellow, slow flashing red) very often and seemingly randomly. I also get the comm error (fast flashing green w/ constant red). That one comes in intermittently even when I’m doing the same action over and over. I checked the electrical connections, and they are fine. It seems to come in at every baud rate from 2400 to 57.6k…

2. What happens if I send serial information faster than the servo can respond? I control serial output based on mouse position, and when I move the mouse very quickly I tend to get more errors.

3. When I move very slowly w/o limiting the servo speed via “Set Speed”, the servos make small jumps in the wrong direction. Is this normal?

4. With both servos connected, I can barely move them at all (especially the big one) without getting one of the LED errors. The power supply is a spare ATX computer supply at 5.2V w/ ~10A free. How much current do these servos draw (especially the S04 BBM)?

Any help would be appreciated.

Hello,

It sounds like you have a power problem. The baud rate detection problem can only happen on power-up/reset, so if you are getting the baud rate error after sending a few bytes, the processor has reset. The other error you are seeing is most likely due to a framing error. The usual explanation for that is the reset I mentioned earlier, which causes the servo controller to come up in the middle of a serial stream. The controller tries to determine the baud rate based on the first thing it sees, which could be the middle of a packet. Once it has a bad baud rate, a framing error can occur on subsequent bytes.