Looking for motor controller/driver

I am new to the robotics world. I am looking for motor controllers that can be controlled with an arduino board or a computer interface. I am trying to build something similar to a electric wheelchair. The motors we have right now are brushless 12Vdc motors with normal current of about 30AMP. Is there a motor controller that would fit my need?

Edmund Lo

Hello, Edmund,

Unfortunately, we do not currently have any controllers for brushless motors.

- Kevin

Actually, I made a mistake. I have a brushed motor

I was looking through the products section and found this pololu.com/catalog/product/1381
Would this one work for my application? Can this controller controller 2 motors?

Edmund Lo

Hello.

The Simple Motor Controllers can each only control a single motor, but you can easily pair two units to drive two motors. Unfortunately, the 18v25 version can only deliver up to 25 A of continuous current, and it sounds like your motor will be drawing at least 30 A. Is this what you meant by “normal current”? You might be able to make it work if you add a heat sink and possibly a fan to keep the driver cool (with appropriate cooling, you could potentially deliver a continuous 40 A without overheating), but we don’t provide any support for such modifications.

- Ben

Thanks for all your input. My motor specification says it draws max 27A at normal load. Here is the full specification sheet. docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid= … MGQ1&hl=en

Edmund Lo

That link doesn’t work for me. Do you have a way of measuring how much current your motor draws at 12 V?

- Ben

I have tested my motor at 12V free spin, no load. It draws about 2.7A. But I am not sure how much it will actually draw after i mount it on my application

docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid= … y=CKLv4OAJ
This link should work.

Edmund Lo