Jrk 21v3 fried

Hi guys I’m new with this stuff and I was attempting to control the 4" stroke 12v actuator and I found the settings and little tut on the website after not being able to figure it out on my own. I moved the scroll bar to set position like it said and I moved it twice so far so good then moved it up some more and it fried and I’m not sure why. Not a big deal it didn’t cost much anyway but I’d like to learn from my mistake I just don’t know what that is yet.
Thanks

Hello, Tallon.

I am sorry your jrk seems to be damaged. What happened that makes you think it is damaged? Are you referring to the tutorial at the bottom of the linear actuator pages? Could you post a picture of your setup and connections? Can you provide a link to the linear actuator you were using? What kind of power supply were you using? How long were your power supply leads?

- Ryan

Hi Ryan
I ordered a new one to try again, I am thinking it was because I powered it by a 12v bat charger with 10A but I didn’t think that 10A was too much for it. Don’t some 12v batteries supply more than that? I have help with my setup so I don’t think I am wiring it wrong and I’ve also dealt with circuits before. But let me know if it is the charger causing the problem. I just ran a few feet long 18 gauge wires to and from it. Maybe that could be why? It’s leads aren’t that long either.

I think it’s damaged because one of the components melted and smoked the garage out lol maybe it could be replaced I’m not sure but it’s fluid went out onto the board. It’s a black square component, I’m not too knowledgeable with these things.

Thanks