Is this possible?

Hi all, I’m new to all of this, so please be easy on me :wink: In a nutshell, I’m searching for a relatively uncomplicated way to fabricate a flip up door/panel in the dashboard of my car. I would like to control one servo, movement will be limited to about 90 degrees. I would like to use a rocker switch whereby ‘on’ would move the servo 90 degrees, and ‘off’ would return the servo to zero degrees. Would this be possible with a Pololu servo controller and servo? If so, could you recommend an appropriate controller and servo?

Thanks

Hello.

Yes, it is possible. I would recommend the Micro Maestro 6-Channel USB Servo Controller. The user’s guide has sections on how to connect a switch/button and write a script for the Maestro that does something based on the input.

- Ryan

Thanks Ryan, appreciate the response, cheers!

Hey Ryan, I ordered the controller and a couple of servos, thanks. One other quick question. When looking over the users guide, it states that to use a button, you must “wire a pull-up resistor (1–100 kilo-ohms) between the signal line of that channel and 5 V so that the input is high (5 V) when the switch is open.” Can you give me a link to such resistor as I’m not familiar with the pull up type and I don’t want to order the wrong thing.

Thanks

Hello.

The term “pull-up” doesn’t describe the type of resistor, it describes how it is used. A pull-up resistor is just a normal resistor that is used to weakly pull a floating pin to a voltage that represents a logic-level high (e.g. 5V in a 5V system). If you use the resistor to pull the pin to ground (logic-level low), you call it a pull-down resistor.

- Ben

Ah, gotcha Ben, thanks for the explanation, that makes sense. So when it calls for a 1-100 kilo ohm resistor(pardon the seemingly dumb question) what ohm rating should I use? I’m assuming it has to be in between 1-100, or is the 1 denoting the number of resistors? Will this work, linky:
radioshack.com/product/index … 107594276#