How to use Polulu Maestro servo controller / ROV...NEED HELP

Hi,

I just have to start by saying that im new to this forum and im new to controlling stuff with “computer” like Polulu and Arduino.

I have made an ROV, quite an professionale one(spent a lot of money and ca. 2000 hours on it) but im missing a good way to controll thisone.

Some info about me project:

ROV with 4 thrusters (brushless and controlled by a statdard RC motor controller)
Real Neutral Umbillical from Outland Technology USA.
Approved for dive 900m++
HD Camera
LED 20W ligths x 2
28V in tether
12V in ROV

What i need is some help to make comunication between ROV and me. I just bougth a Polulu servo controller 6ch, 2x USB - RS 485 converter and a USB Joystick

Can i get the USB joystick to controll my laptop wich controlls my servos? Anyone that have done the same or knows someone that have?

Appriciate all tips! :smiley:

Buy an apm 2.5. It will do it all from a computer using an xbox controller.
It will even do it with out you entirely.
This will lead you to diy-drone or even jdrone.
Load down a free program call mission planner (mavlink).
Every thing will start unfolding from there for you.
You may even kick your self for spending to much.
Please don’t shoot the messager. lol
Enjoy yourself your project will start moving at a rapped rate now.

Hi.

It is possible to control a Maestro with a joystick via a computer. Unfortunately, we do not have any example code for doing that, so you would probably have to write your own computer program that interprets the signals from your joystick and then sends serial commands to the Maestro.