Help with remote controlling JRK 21v3

Hi all.
I’m a bit new to Remote Control I’m afraid.
I’m building a remote controlled full size R2D2 and it was suggested I purchase the JRK 21v3 to control the pitman motor for the dome rotation, which just basically is a 12v motor that draws about 1 amp or so, and spins in either direction when your reverse the polarity of the power and ground wire.

so… I’ve got my JRK 21v3 but I’m not really sure what is the best remote control transmitter and receiver to use.
eventually I’m hoping to control more than just the rotation of the dome, as I intend fitting motors to the feet to be able to drive him around. I won’t be controlling millions or servos for opening doors or anything though.

Can anyone suggest a good starting point for me, or even what would be a good transmitter/receiver to purchase… and possibly also how to connect the receiver to the controller?

I am doing a load of research all the time, but I just don’t want to make assumptions early on and get the wrong kit.

Cheers,
Glyn.

Hi Glyn,

We do not have a specific RC transmitter and receiver pair to recommend for use with the jrk. Any receiver that outputs standard RC hobby servo pulses should work fine, so you would want to choose one based on your other requirements. Have you seen this blog post about using the jrk to control an R2D2 dome? You might find some of the information there to be useful.

Connecting an RC receiver to the JRK is fairly straightforward. You can find a video here that shows the jrk being controlled by RC servo pulses at :52 into the video.

Have you determined how you are going to measure the dome’s rotation angle?

-Aaron

Thanks for the info Aaron, and the links. Very useful! the connection on the JRK to the remote control receiver was where I’d sort of worked out where the controller would go.
The bit confusing me now is how to connect to the pitman motor.