Help with Maestro scripting (Updated)

Hello,

#UPDATE: Read my replies to this thread. I think I have things working as hoped for.

I need some help taking my fishing kayak propulsion project to the next level. I have been using Pololu controllers for several years now and have been extremely happy with the results.

My initial designs used off the shelf brushed motor trolling motors but I am now using BlueRobotics T200 thrusters. with their “Basic ESC”.

I have been using a Pololu Micro Maestro 6-channel to control the thrusters. I have the Micro Maestro configured with three inputs from 10k Ω potentiometers. Two of the pots control two thrusters and the third pots controls a servo for steering.

I have two setups for my propulsion systems.
One is transom mounted like a standard transom mounted trolling motor, where the thruster(s) are controlled by one or two channels from the Mini Maestro and steering, is accomplished via a servo connected to the thrusters via a shaft through the tiller. I call this active vectored steering.

Imgur

The other is a “skid steer” setup where the thrusters are mounted “outrigger” style. The thrusters are fixed and steering is accomplished by varying the speed and direction of each thruster. I call this passive vectored steering.

Imgur

Here is my current settings file:
Please note: I am now using a Pololu Mini Maestro 12-channel controller
I switched from the Micro to Mini because I thought I might need some of the additional scripting commands on the Mini.

maestro_settings 07222017 mini12 joystick001.txt (3.3 KB)

This current setup is very basic and works well.

I am now testing out using a joystick setup to do the same thing but there are some obvious differences between using individual pots and a joystick setup.

The joystick I am testing is more or less a standard configuration. It is a 4-function joystick I picked up from ServoCity.
It has an X, Y & Z axis. All axis are connected to 5k pots and are “return to center”.