Help w/PID settings on JRK21v3

Hi all,
I am new to using these controllers but am a fast learner. I have a JRK21v3 set-up in the following little project of mine. It is driving and Altimeter in my flightsim. I have a 5K 10 turn precision pot for feedback. Each half turn of the pot gives me a 1000ft on the altimeter so it goes from 0 to 20K. Driving the jrk21 is an RC servo signal from a 3rd party servo card. Here is the issue I am having. Instead of moving smoothly, the needle jumps in 20-40ft increments, pausing at each stop, instead of running smoothly. Now the aircraft is only climbing at 500-800fpm so it has to drive the needle fairly slow. I know, at least I think, that if the PID settings are right it should work smoothly, correct? I tried 2, .01265, 2 on the 3 settings. I have my pid time at 100ms, max amp on motor set .8 and 150 in the speed table. I tried playing around with the PID but not get it to stop the jumping in the aforementioned small steps. If I dive the plane and get the change up 1.5k to 2kfpm it works well.

Thanks for your help.
Rob

Hello, Rob.

I’m sorry the altimeter isn’t behaving as nicely as you would like. Unfortunately, I think that 20-40ft is pretty close to the limit of how precise the jrk can be.

For input resolution, the jrk measures RC signals in units of 2/3 microseconds and the typical valid range of RC signals is 1000 to 2000 microseconds. Assuming that your 3rd-party controller outputs signals in this range, there would only be 1500 different pulse widths that the jrk can detect. This means the most resolution you could hope for would be 20,000ft/1500 = 13 feet.

We also have to think about output resolution. The jrk uses the RC input to calculate the Target value which is between 0 and 4095. A Target value of 4095 should correspond to 20,000 feet, and every increment of the Target value should correspond to 20,000/4095 = 4.9 feet.

Still, I have some suggestions that might help: