Help on selecting a proper motor and drive

Hi, I am new to this business, so please accept my stupid and basic questions. I am working on a project which requires a motor can do a specific job and I am not sure which motor to order. and to avoid ordering wrong parts, I need your advice. The required motor should do the following:

1- I have a load 4-5kg and the motor should push / pull this load in two directions (on a long bar) to a specific distance (3ft) only, then should stop by itself on a specific point fixed by me as a safety point. (the bar is much longer than 3ft).
2- The motor should be programmed to move maximum 3ft on the left and 3ft on the right (total 6ft left/right)
3- I should be able to stop the motor the point and the time a like within this 6ft.
4- The motor should be smooth and accurate.

Now I am not sure which motor can do this job, is it a stepper motor? Or motor with encoder? Or other option?

Your feedback is highly appreciated.

Hello.

I apologize for the delayed reply. I suspect no one has responded yet because your question is quite broad and you don’t really provide enough information for us to give you an answer. In order to select a motor, you have to have at least a rough idea of how much torque and speed you require. You might find this blog post about force and torque helpful.