Help - not understanding serial protocol numbers

Hi there - I am a newbie to the Maestro serial protocols. I am sending commands from a PIC to the Maestro 6 and its working fine but I am not understanding the numbers that are being used in your examples.

The manual says set the position in quarter micro-seconds. So (for the Compact Protocol) if you setting the position to 1500us would be 1500 x 4 = 6000 = 0x1770h. But the manual doesn’t do this math for you and says to send 0x2E70h for the data. I have looked at this 10 different ways and I don’t understand where the 0x2E70 comes from - can someone explain?

Also it says that for the databytes the msb has to be low…so what do you do if have a databyte that DOES have msb set - do you just through it our or do you shift the high byte to compensate? I would expect a bit more explanation about all of this in the manual.

Thanks,
ATX

Ok - I figured it out. The high byte is shifted one bit to the left and the msb of the low byte becomes the lsb of the high byte. A little more explanation in the manual on this would be helpful. Show an example of where all the values came from rather than just saying “to set the servo position at 1500 we send the position command, servo number followed by 0x70 then 0x2E” with no explanation on how you arrived at those values. Didn’t y’all learn to show your work in school? :smiley:

Hello, ATX.

I am glad you were able to figure it out; thank you for the feedback. I am not sure which specific part of the guide you were referring to, but the “Serial Servo Commands” section of the Maestro user’s guide has an example for the Set Target command that explains where the data byte values came from.