FEZ Domino USB Host for Maestro?

Firstly, I apologize for asking a question before trying this myself, but I did read/search the forums here and didn’t find a clear answer. Since “experimenting” with my very limited knowledge can be a) expensive, and b) frustrating, I hope you don’t mind my asking:

Is it possible to use the Maestro (I have the 6 servo variety) with a FEZ Domino?

The Domino has a USB Host port, and will recognize devices identifying themselves as “serial port profile” using certain chipsets (keep in mind I have limited knowledge of what that actually means.) And, looking at the way Maestro behaves when connected to my PC and the C# sample code, it appears it does indeed have the serial interface over USB implemented.

What do I need to be careful of when experimenting with this idea?

I don’t know. I don’t think anyone has tried it yet.

Where is the documentation for the FEZ library for USB/serial? You should find out if it supports composite devices like the Maestro (i.e. devices that have different interfaces inside them; the Maestro has two serial ports and one native USB interface).

If the FEZ library for USB/serial doesn’t support composite devices, then you probably can’t use it. Is there a more basic USB Host library you could use that lets you perform arbitrary USB control transfers on the device? That would be a great way to control the Maestro.

I don’t think there’s anything you particularly need to be careful of. The FEZ and the Maestro should not break if you’re just connecting them via USB.

–David

Thanks, David. I check-in at the forum on tinyclr.com about the FEZ and they indicate composite USB devices should be no problem at all. In addition to serial support, there is indeed a lower-level integration point called USBH_RawDevice:

http://ghielectronics.com/downloads/NETMF/Library%20Documentation/html/cad016bc-c045-3553-16a5-a86db398c68f.htm