Easiest Morse Code Code?

Hello, this is my first time using any microcontroller. I have a maestro 24 and I’m trying to get channel 0 to flash a morse code sequence. I need the output to be ON (+5v) OFF (0v) in controlled, delayed fashion to send morse code.

I’m not sure what the code ‘servo servo’ does, but hacking together from other example scripts it does the job of turning the servo channel fully on and off. Below I have a working example of flashing the letter ‘X’ in morse code with an LED attached to the (-) and (S) terminals of the 0 servo channel.

My questions are simple. 1) is this the best, most efficient way to send ‘digital’ signals through the servo channels? i.e. is ‘servo servo’ the best way? 2) Is there a flat out better way you can think of send basically a TTL signal through the servo channels to send morse code?

Thanks for any insight,
-Adam

# Simple script in POLOLU Controller to flash X in morse code (-..-) in a loop.

begin #START THE CODE

#Dash - BEGIN
  1 1 8000 0 servo servo #LED ON
  500 delay #ON LENGTH
  0 0 0 0 servo servo #LED OFF
  150 delay #OFF LENGTH
#Dash - END

#Dot - BEGIN
  250 delay #ON LENGTH
  150 delay #OFF LENGTH
#Dot - END

#Dot - BEGIN
  250 delay #ON LENGTH
  150 delay #OFF LENGTH
#Dot - END

#Dash - BEGIN
  500 delay #ON LENGTH
  150 delay #OFF LENGTH
#Dash - END

#END of message - BEGIN
  1500 delay #OFF LENGTH
#END of message - END

repeat #REPEAT FROM THE START

Hello, Adam!

I am glad you were able to get this working. In the Channel Settings tab of the Maestro Control Center, be sure to configure Channel 0 as an “Output” instead of “Servo”; one of the effects of that is that the LED will be much brighter.