Driving motors directly with PIC Basic Pro

(I’m a newbie - just so’s you know)

I bought the 210:1 Micro Metal Gearmotor (item #1096) and the Qik 2s9v1 Dual Serial Controller for a wee project I’ve started (fairly simple - rotate 1 motor in the forward direction and the other in reverse, but both at the same speed which I want to set programmatically) but after seeing some sample PBP code online I’m wondering if I can do something this simple just with PWM commands directly to the motors instead of serout commands to the controller. Any suggestions/recommendations?

Also, the user’s guide for the controller shows one 0.1 uF capacitor connected between the + and - leads of Motor M1 while for M2 there are 2 0.1 uF caps between each lead and the housing of the motor. Do I need those? If I end up not using the controller and just driving the motors directly with PWM commands do I need transistors and diodes as shown on cornerstonerobotics.org/curr … ol_pwm.pdf?

Hello, Ross,

In general, the digital outputs on a microcontroller are capable of providing far too little current to drive a motor. The transistor circuit in the PDF you linked to acts as a “switch” that allows the small current coming from the microcontroller output to activate a larger current going through the motor. The disadvantage of this circuit is that it only allows you to drive the motor in one direction; to get bidirectional control, you need a more complicated circuit like the H-bridge motor driver shown on the last page.

All of our motor drivers and controllers use H-bridges. If you are interested in generating PWM signals yourself with a microcontroller, you could consider using one of our motor drivers. (Motor controllers like the qik have higher level interfaces instead, such as serial or analog.)