Digital distance sensor 10 cm + shift bright project

First off i’m new to the pololu forums. I wish to discuss the components i’ll need and help on a secure lay out. My project has many layers. here are the ones i need help with…

I am creating a custom nerf gun using nerf titan ammo(sgnerf.blogspot.com/2009/03/nerf … eview.html) rocket launcher 8 chamber compressed air propelled gun. I have so far gotten the ammo chamber rdy to put together and make solid. I am not going to assemble the chamber, untill i know if any components need to be apart of it. This website offers parts for three specific systems, to help my project. They include:

-First I would like to make a “break beam sensor counter” with the digital distance sensor 10cm (pololu.com/catalog/product/1134). Place this at the exit side of the barrel and relay the wires to the other end of the gun for a counter, displaying two digits.

-Second I want each chamber to have a digital distance sensor 10cm (pololu.com/catalog/product/1134) at the rear of each chamber. not in the rotating part but in the stock of the gun. If possible to have the L.e.d. moved to the back of the gun in a circle (8 lights all together) to show the status of the chambers (loaded or not). i’ve noted the problem with this sensor is the more complex it gets with a circuit the worse it is at accurate detection. So each one can be separate (hopefully not the power source.

-Third and the most complicated (to me), I wish to use the shift bright system (pololu.com/catalog/category/20). once the gun either detects a rocket exit the gun, via counter, or after the electronic trigger is fired. i wish to send various chained shiftbrites to pulse a color or two inside the gun like it’s recharging.

Any help would be awesome. I am no pro just a few kits and projects under my belt, basic knowledge. If i ask silly questions i apologize.

Russ

Hello.