Could serial noise confuse the Maestro like this?

Hi, Folks, I have a (master) Maestro 12-channel connected to my Windows 7 PC by USB Chained and working fine. I have (for now) a single slave Maestro 12-channel connected to the master by TTL and set up for UART auto-detect baud rate. It is powered by your 5VDC 3A wall wart power supply. Eight servos are connected, but only one is actively moved at any one time (with a miniscule load) while the others hold position. The problem is that I have to send the same command multiple times from your serial transmitter (or my code) to move any of those eight servos attached to the slave. The master’s TX pin and GND pin are connected by your ‘Wires with Pre-crimped Terminals 50-Piece Rainbow Assortment F-F 12"’ to header strips divided into little soldered-together islands for distribution to many slaves. From the island connected to the master’s TX, there is one of your 60" wires connecting it to the RX of the slave. Likewise GND of the master goes to an island and on through a 60" wire to GND of the slave. A third 60" wire is connected from TX of the slave directly to RX of the master. The plan is that I can connect many slaves to one master via the distribution board for a total distance of 72" between master TX and any slave. It works, but it isn’t working well, and I’m soliciting your advice. I think it might be serial noise of some sort, but I don’t know what to do about it if it is.