Controlling servos with a Phototransistor

This is my first project using a Pololu product, and I am using a Maestro 6 channell USB servo controller to control two servos. What I would like to do is connect a phototransistor to an input channel as a switch that initializes the servo sequence when it detects infrared light and returns to neutral state when there is no light present. I think I know how to set up the board physically for this to happen from reading the following directions: pololu.com/docs/0J40/7.b . However, I am totally lost on how to properly script this so that it functions properly. Any help or input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Hello,

Take a look at the example code I posted for another Maestro user. You application should be very similar. If you still have questions after that, see if you can ask something more specific.

-Paul

By the way, a good way to go in general is to break up your project into manageable steps and see where you get stuck:

1. Wire the sensor to your Maestro and verify that it works in the Maestro Control Center.
  2. Write a function called DETECTOR that returns 1 if something is detected, 0 if not. You can test this function by putting “DETECTOR QUIT” as the first line of your program, running it interactively, and seeing what value ends up on the stack.
  3. Write a function called SEQUENCE that runs your sequence - test it in a similar way.
  4. Combine these two functions using a BEGIN…REPEAT loop and an IF…END condition.
  5. Step through your code to debug it until it works!

-Paul

Hello,