Burned out A4983 using 10V stepper motor. How?

Howdy, this is my first attempt at microcontrolling, and of course I burned up the A4983 chip :frowning:

I have a Arduino Duemilanove, and I’d like to use it to control a 10V bipolar stepper (#1208) via the A4983 stepper driver (#1201). Attached is my wiring setup.

At first I wanted to just make the stepper move, so I wrote this program:

int steppin = 9;
int dirpin = 8;

void setup() {
  pinMode(steppin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirpin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(dirpin, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(steppin, LOW);
}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(steppin, HIGH);
  delay(5);
  digitalWrite(steppin, LOW);
  delay(200);
}

Then, when I plugged in the 10V power, the A4983 chip popped and smoked. I’ve attached a picture of wasted chip with two burn holes.

So what did I do wrong?
Could it be the program isn’t sending the correct instructions to the chip?
Is all the wiring correct?
Does it have something to do with current? The 10V motor has a current rating of 500mA, and the A4983 has a rating of 2A, so I thought that was ok.
Is there some sort of current limit I can put on the driver? How do I do that? I saw this, but I’m not sure how to wire/set it up.

I’ll be ordering another board and trying again. Any ideas on how to make this work?

Hello.

That’s strange and unfortunate. Your code shouldn’t cause this kind of problem. There definitely is current limiting available, and you need to set it correctly to get microstepping working. We talk about it on the product page and there is a detailed discussion of it in the datasheet. However, that should not have caused your problem since the motor you’re using just doesn’t draw that much. What is your power source? Can you provide more details about the timing of the failure?

- Jan

Hello.

This should not cause the failure you describe, but your wiring schematic shows MS1 floating. We have a simple wiring example on the product page.

- Ryan