Arduino and LV-DSMC: Cannot select motor properly

Hello – I’m a longtime computer programmer but new to robotics and microcontrollers. I’m trying to get my Arduino Duemilanove to control my Pololu Low Voltage Dual Serial Motor Controller. (The MC is in turn plugged into a pair of tiny Tamiya motors in a Tamiya 70097 gearbox.)

As I understand the MC manual, the code I’ve written ought to rotate one of my two motors forward for five seconds, then pause for five seconds, then repeat. Instead, it rotates both motors forward, not just one of them.

#define ledPin        4
#define motorResetPin 5

void setup(){
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(motorResetPin, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(1200);   // set baud rate
  motorReset();
}

void loop(){
  digitalWrite(ledPin,HIGH);

Serial.print(0x80,BYTE);   // init command
  Serial.print(0x00,BYTE);   // hello motor controller
  Serial.print(0,BYTE);   // pick a motor
  Serial.print(20,BYTE);  // pick a speed

delay(5000);

motorReset();
  digitalWrite(ledPin,LOW);

delay(5000);
}

void motorReset(){
  digitalWrite(motorResetPin, LOW);
  delay(10);
  digitalWrite(motorResetPin, HIGH);  
  delay(100);
}

The culprit, as near as I can tell is the line “Serial.print(0,BYTE);”. I’ve tried altering it, with the following results:

• “Serial.print(1,BYTE);” rotates both motors backwards instead of forwards.
  • Any other value seems to cause the MC to fail to respond in any way

I’m at a loss here- Any advice will be much appreciated! Thanks in advance,

=T=
:smiley:

It sounds like you may have inadvertently switched your LV-DSMC into single-motor mode, which is used to double the power available to a single motor. Were you playing around with the configuration command at some point?

Anyway, to set it back to 2-motor mode with the default motor numbers, you would send this string of bytes

Serial.print(0x80,BYTE); // init command
Serial.print(0x02,BYTE); // configuration command