ACS709 on Mini Maestro 24 wrong input voltage

Good day everybody,

My name is Peter, I am a hobby programmer and like to tinker with electronics. My current goal is to create a simple control system for a drone. As a basis I use a Raspberry PI with Python code. For most control parts I use Pololu boards. At the moment I have a cluster of the following sensors and other parts.

• Mini Maestro 24-Channel USB Servo Controller
  • MinIMU-9 Gyro, Accelerometer, and Compass
  • ACS709 Current Sensor Carrier -75 to +75A
  • Pololu Step-Down Voltage Regulator D15V35F5S3
  • Maxbotix LV-MaxSonar-EZ1 Sonar Range Finder MB1010

Everything is working, or seems to be working. I connected the ACS709 and LV-MaxSonar-EZ1 to the Mini Maestro. Now my problem starts here, I can read the input values on the Mini Maestro using the serial (via USB) commands. But both in Python and in the Maestro Control Center the values are higher then I would expect.

The forum already gave a few answers to the ‘leaking’ current, so I only connected the ACS709 and even tried the ground <-> input pin. But the measurements still give ± 144 in the MCC and 575 from the serial line. By my calculations that should be around 2,807 voltage and my multimeter says I only get 2.51 volts from the ACS709. The same ‘faulty’ readings are seen from the LV-MaxSonare-EZ1, also tested alone and of course together.

In Python I use the following code to read the voltage:

def get_port(self, port_number):
        port_number = int(port_number) # set port_number to integer
        while self.running_query: # check if there is not someone else running a query
            time.sleep(0.0001) # wait for other query to end
        self.running_query = 1 # make sure you are the only one quering
        msg = chr(0x90) + chr(port_number) # create message
        self.port.write(msg) # write message
        time.sleep(0.001) # wait for result to be ready
        response1 = self.port.read(1) # read one byte