A4983 stepper motor driver and arduino mega

hello
i’m new with this and i needed some help connecting and writing the code for the pololu A4983 stepper motor driver and the arduino mega… any halp will be greatly appreciated

Hello.

Have you read the web page and datasheet for the A4983? That should give you a general idea on how to connect to the carrier. If you draw up what you think the wiring should be and post it here, we can take a look at it.

- Ryan

i know the basic operation of the driver but i’m confused where i connect to step, direction, and enable to?
do i connect it to digital, analog or PWM?

Step, direction, and enable are all digital inputs. When you say “connect” do you mean in software? Because, in hardware on the ATmega1280, you can use the pins with PWM output and analog input features as general purpose IO.

- Ryan

So the only ones I need to get it running is step, direction, and enable? These are wired to the PWN part of the arduino, right? This is what I am doing and I am still having problems.The voltage and ground seem to be connected fine and the correct power source is connected to the motor. I don’t understand what is wrong. I can hear the motor doing something… please help…
thanks!

Hello.

Can you be more specific about the trouble you’re having? What is the current rating of your stepper motor and what is your driver’s current limit set to? What is your power source?

Instead of using a PWM signal to step the motor, can you see what happens if you just toggle the I/O line at some slow rate (e.g. ten times per second)?

- Ben