3A speed controller

I’m new to this automation game, but had quite a lot of fun trying out servo and stepper motors with boards from different suppliers here in the UK. I bought a Pololu 3A Motor controller with feedback last week and initially set it up to run a little 6v dc motor using the servo control set up I was already using. A bit messy, but it worked. USB to RS232 converter, null modem cable, RS232 to TTL converter, servo controller, speed controller. Trouble is the motor stops between each command, so I’m trying to implement direct control from serial commands so I can ramp speeds etc. So far with no success.

The TTL converter’s output is Logic 0 0v, Logic 1 5v. Communication looks like it’s behaving when I connect the Tx and Rx (no ground) to the MC board, but whatever the wiring option or code we’ve sent so far just results in a flashing green LED which I take to be an error. No motor movement at all. A friend has been helping with C# coding. e.g.

SerialPort port = new SerialPort("COM1", 9600, Parity.None, 8, StopBits.One);

port.Open();

byte speed = 50;

port.Write(new byte[] { 128, 0, 0, speed }, 0, 4);

System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(1000);

speed = 0;

port.Write(new byte[] { 128, 0, 0, speed }, 0, 4);

port.Close();

Any ideas on how to get this thing working gratefully received.

Sorry you’re having trouble. Why aren’t you connecting ground between the motor controller and your TTL converter? It may be picking up the fluctuations of the Tx line from your TTL converter, but without a ground reference to measure against it really can’t read the signal!