GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Technical discussions about software, control algorithms, and programming languages.

GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby maksims » Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:05 pm

Hi all !
I'm a complete noob in AVR programming, so sorry if it's in some FAQ.

I'm getting an error when I'm connecting ARV Insight to target device.
Code: Select all Expand

Port setting is 9600 N 1 N the same in "Dev. manager" and "ARV Insight"

I'm trying to upload BlinkLED example with WinAVR Program menu, but getting the same error of course:
Code: Select all Expand


Code was compiled with WinAVR:
Code: Select all Expand


Any advice would e appreciated !
Thanks !

UPD: And I don't see pololu control panel either...
UPD2: TTL port - "This device cannot start. (Code 10)"
maksims
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:43 am
Location: Moscow Russia

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby paul » Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:45 pm

Hello,

If you are using the Pololu USB AVR Programmer, please follow the instructions in the User's Guide to get it set up. In particular, you need to follow the instructions here to get it working with AVRDUDE. Anyway, the programmer does not support any kind of debugging, so I suspect you are hoping for something that you are not going to get.

Good luck!
-Paul
User avatar
paul
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby maksims » Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:56 pm

Hi, Paul.

My goal is to upload a test program to BabyO. Nothing else.

I've compiled it and now I'm going to send it to BabyO using ARV Programmer.

Thanks. I'm trying to setup AVRDUDE...

p.s. but hmmm.. debugging is a nice idea =)

UPD: AVRDUDE seem to work fine/ Here's an output:
avrdude -e -p atmega[or m]328p -P com2 -c avrispv2-U flash:w:main.hex
Code: Select all Expand


HW IDs:
USB\Vid_1ffb&Pid_0081&Rev_0101&MI_00
USB\Vid_1ffb&Pid_0081&MI_00
maksims
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:43 am
Location: Moscow Russia

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby paul » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:04 pm

It is really unlikely that your programmer is on COM2. As the instructions say,
You can determine your programmer’s port name by looking in the “Ports (COM & LPT)” list of your Device Manager for “Pololu USB AVR Programmer Programming Port”.

-Paul
User avatar
paul
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby maksims » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:14 pm

It is, Paul.

I've changed it in advanced settings.
Actually, this setting doesn't affect anything. I tried default too.
When port number is not correct it says:
avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\COM2": The system cannot find the file specified.

BTW, Oscilloscope works fine.
maksims
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:43 am
Location: Moscow Russia

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby paul » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:54 pm

Hello,
Are you sure? Can you post a screenshot of the device manager showing that it is using COM2?

What version of Windows are you using? Do you mean the the SLO-Scope application works fine or are you talking about something else?

-Paul
User avatar
paul
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby maksims » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:00 pm

Yes. That's right.
SLO scope works fine, but ARVDUDE says write_error.
I think problem is in incorrect driver installation. I'm gonna try it all on my notebook at evening.
Im running Windows XP SP2
Here's some printscreens.
Port settings:
Image

Note, COM2 is not in use:
Image

Driver information:
Image

Note, that theres no Pololu control panel icon !!!:
Image

TTL port shows "Unable to start" even after programmer firmware upgrade.
Last edited by maksims on Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
maksims
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:43 am
Location: Moscow Russia

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby paul » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:50 pm

It is very clearly stated in the User's Guide that there are issues with XP SP2; you really should have mentioned that your OS was out of date a long time ago! Is there a reason you are not upgrading to SP3?

-Paul
User avatar
paul
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby maksims » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:31 pm

Paul, thank you a lot !

You were right about windows version.

I haven't upgrade it because I just had no need of that.
I'm a very conservative referencing computer stuff.

Additionally, I don't want to do anything to my platform software on THAT computer, 'cuz we developing very sophisticated software for one of our customers. (SQL/BizTalk/COM+/.NET and many more components)
So I consider it a bit risky to install any servicepacks.

And I DID missed that part about sp2 issue, and I'm sorry for that =(
I think I can say for all of us - your customers, that we REALLY appreciate your quick help and unshakable patience =)

Well, it's laying here and blinks red LED as it supposed to. Cool =))
Next step is to get it all together working under WinCE.
maksims
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:43 am
Location: Moscow Russia

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby paul » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:43 pm

Maybe the hotfix would work for you, but I don't know whether you would be willing to even do that on such a critical computer. So does this mean it works for you on your other computer? That's great!!

-Paul
User avatar
paul
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: GDB cannot connect to the target board using COMx

Postby maksims » Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:06 am

Yes, it works fine on my office computer (WinXP w sp3).

I think I would try to setup a hotfix tonight.

Tomorrow is my daughter's birthday, so I'll take a break in programming and have to go out to the real world =)
maksims
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:43 am
Location: Moscow Russia


Return to Software and Microcontrollers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests