LSM303DLH Problem

Support for Pololu products that are not covered by one of the above categories.

LSM303DLH Problem

Postby jaxopia » Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:00 pm

I am unable to read the magnetometer values using my arduino. I am using the library and sample serial sketch provided. The accelerometer seems to be working fine, I am able to read it's values and turn it on and off by writing to CTRL_REG1_A. However, the values for the magnetometer all stay at a constant 32.00 and never change. Do I have a bad chip or am I missing something?
jaxopia
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: LSM303DLH Problem

Postby kevin » Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:58 pm

Hello,

I am sorry you are having trouble with your LSM303DLH. Did you ever get any good readings from the magnetometer, or has it always returned 32.00?

- Kevin
User avatar
kevin
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: LSM303DLH Problem

Postby jaxopia » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:44 pm

No, it never worked correctly. I received it yesterday, just tried it out today.
jaxopia
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: LSM303DLH Problem

Postby kevin » Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:59 am

Hello,

It sounds like the unit might be bad. Please contact us directly with your order number.

- Kevin
User avatar
kevin
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: LSM303DLH Problem

Postby jaxopia » Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:55 pm

Got the replacement board today. I am now getting all six readings; X, Y, and Z from both the accelerometer and magnetometer.

Thanks. :-D
jaxopia
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: LSM303DLH Problem

Postby kevin » Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:54 pm

As an update to anyone else who might be having a similar issue: a customer, Derek, reported that he was having the same problem of always reading 32 from the magnetometer. However, he was able to solve the problem by changing how he applied power to the LSM303DLH. Here is what Derek wrote in an email to us, posted with his permission:

It appears to be a power related issue. When I accidentally plugged in my
usb-to-serial converter to my laptop before turning on power to the breadboard,
I discovered that it was partially supplying power to the breakboard (about
1.3V). Then when I turn on power to the breadboard, the voltage reaches its
nominal value (3.3V). This "two stage" power up seems to put the magnetometer in
a "locked" state, for lack of a better word. If, on the other hand, I apply 3.3V
power first, and *then* connect the usb plug to the laptop, the magnetometer
works properly.

So it looks like the magnetometer needs to see full voltage immediately and
quickly in order to work correctly.


- Kevin
User avatar
kevin
Pololu Employee
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV


Return to Other Pololu Products

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests