Connecting three Sharp digital distance sensors

I bought a 3pi with expansion board and 3 of these: pololu.com/product/1134
I’m a newbie to hobby robotics and was wondering how I should be connecting these up to the 3pi / expansion board.

My guess is I could connect ‘OUT’ on two of them to PD0 and PD1 on the 3PI and ‘GND’ to the two ‘GND’ sockets beneath PD0 and PD1. But then how could I connect the third sensor, what do I connect ‘VIN’ to? I’m really out of my depth here and would appreciate some hand-holding.

It would probably be easiest to make your three sets of connections for power (VIN and GND on those distance sensors) to the 3pi’s VCC & GND pins located in between the batteries and the front edge of the robot. This should provide a regulated 5V with enough current for each of the sensors. You could use PD0 and PD1 to read the outputs like you mentioned for two of those sensors. Then for the third, you could use one of the jumpered I/Os (AD6, AD7, and PC5), but you would first have to remove the jumpers (and you would lose their functionality). You can read more about using the available I/O under the “Available I/O on the 3pi’s ATmegaxx8” section of the 3pi’s user’s guide, which you can find under the Resources tab of its product page.

-Jon

Just want to stress again how much of a newbie I am to robotics and electronics in general. I’ve never done any electronics before and only used a soldering iron for the first time about a week ago, so sorry if I frustrate you :stuck_out_tongue:

My questions:

1. In the documentation, it states:

I can’t see PD0 or PD1 noted anywhere on the expansion PCB.

1. For the IO (PD0, PD1, AD6, AD7, PC5 etc) I can understand why there would be two connections for each, input and output. But I don’t understand why there are two sockets for VCC, GND and the others.

2. What is a ‘jumpered’ IO and what would I lose if I removed the jumper?

I made an image to try and explain some of my confusion.