Programming 3pi robot in linux

I’m not entirely sure if this is the correct forum for my question. If it’s not, please accept my apology and hopefully one of the friendly administrators could kindly move it to the proper forum. I’m frustrated. I own a computer that does not have the windows operating system on it. I solely run Ubuntu 14.10, and it has been frustrating to me to program my 3pi robot in linux. I did find and sucessfully followed instructions from this website to install avrdude and the Pololu libraries on my computer. I’m able to sucessfully compile, transfer, and run any of the 3pi sample projects from the Examples folder.
ok, so here’s my problem:
I am a inexperienced programmer, I’ve only written very small programs on my computer in the c language, and the Arduino language. When coding Arduino sketches, I use the Arduino IDE, when coding in c, I use the Eclipse IDE. I’ve also written small programs in c at the command prompt, using VIM.
I want to create my own programs to run on my 3pi robot, I just ordered a 3pi expansion kit to help with that task. The thing I’m not understanding are the different files that are in the Pololu example directory. I’ve only created my own .c files, the other files in those directories are a Makefile, an .aps file, an atsln file, and a cproj file. some of these files I suspect are from AVR studio files. I don’t have AVR studio on my computer, nor can I find a recent walkthrough to install it. What are my options to Author files in Ubuntu that I can compile and run on my little 3pi powerhouse? My goal is to add my Arduino 2560 to my 3pi in a master/slave configuration to control an robotic arm I have built. Leaving the locomotion and navigation up to the 3pi, and using the 2560 to operate the robotic arm. I dont have it completely figured out how I will acomplish this, but if I could get some direction/advise on beginning to author my programs for the 3pi.

Hello.