I'm new to Pololu & I have a Zumo 32U4 design question

Has anyone considered & or tried changing the battery box (yes I realize that it also doubles as the chassis) for something that will house batteries with a higher power density rating (ie: li-ion) then using four 4 AA batteries? Also can the Zumo 32U4 handle any higher voltage then 6V, say 7.4V for instance?

Dao20

Hello.

Yes, in its default configuration the Zumo32U4 can handle battery voltages as high as 10V, though you can raise the maximum allowable voltage to the motor drivers’ limit of 11 V by disconnecting or modifying the battery voltage divider. We mention this under the “Power” section of the Zumo32U4 user’s guide, which you can find under the “Resources” tab of its product page.

-Jon

Thanks Jonathan. How do you get the Arduino IDE to talk to the Zumo 32u4? I’ve found lots of instruction on how to get the A-Star 32u4 to communicate but nothing to get the Zumo 32u4 to connect & communicate. I even followed the instructions on how to connect the A-Star, of which that went fine. However I don’t have an A-Star, I have a Zumo 32u4 & it still wont connect. Can anyone help get this working?

Dao

Ok, please disregard the previous message. It was my mess up, however I have it working now. Sorry this newbie has a lot to learn yet.

Though I could use an answer to a different question that could lead to a cool project.

My Zumo 32u4, I got a set of the 100:1 HP dual shaft motors for it. Could the motor drivers handle a second set of motors? My idea; use the extended tracks & have 2 pairs of matching motors driving my one bot. I want to make my daughters bot a strong contender, however I obviously don’t want to kill my daughters new bot.

Thanks Dao

I am glad you figured out the answer to your other question; thanks for letting us know.