Arduino Mega and Simple Motor Controller 18v7(Pololu)

Hi I am a secondary student that wants to learn how to control a motor (GA25Y-370, DC:6V, 33rpm) using an Arduino Mega that is connected to the simple motor controller.Below is the code that I used to control the speed of the motor, however I will need to change the program and upload the program into the arduino before the speed changes. I was wondering if there is any other way to enable me to change the speed through the serial monitor of arduino? I would also like to change the delay time highlighted below as I realise that is the way to control the position of the motor if I want the motor to run in positioning mode. Is there a way to control it using an analog potentiometer as well?

I am very sorry for the long post as I do not have much knowledge in this field and had only picked this up a month ago. I am interested in inventing my own robot but is in need of help for now. I would appreciate if anyone could give me a sample program on how to change the variables without having to change the number and reuploading it everytime. Thanks in advance

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#define rxPin 3 // pin 3 connects to smcSerial TX (not used in this example)
#define txPin 4 // pin 4 connects to smcSerial RX
SoftwareSerial smcSerial = SoftwareSerial(rxPin, txPin);
// required to allow motors to move
// must be called when controller restarts and after any error
void exitSafeStart()
{
smcSerial.write(0x83);
}
// speed should be a number from -3200 to 3200
void setMotorSpeed(int speed)
{
if (speed < 0)
{
smcSerial.write(0x86); // motor reverse command
speed = -speed; // make speed positive
}
else
{
smcSerial.write(0x85); // motor forward command
}
smcSerial.write(speed & 0x1F);
smcSerial.write(speed >> 5);
}
void setup()
{
// initialize software serial object with baud rate of 19.2 kbps
smcSerial.begin(19200);
// the Simple Motor Controller must be running for at least 1 ms