Newb needs smooh 1 RPM for Barndoor Tracker Project

I am pretty darn clueless when it comes to electronics and code so, I’m hoping for a bit of guidance with this project. I am moving away from the DC motor I’ve been using on my portable star (barndoor) tracker because of the pains of constant adjustments to achieve the needed (accurate) 1 rpm. Anyway, in a perfect world, I would like to have the stepper motor I ordered run at a constant, smooth 1 RPM in one direction. That’s all it has to do, just on or off.
I am now searching for the correct wiring and code needed to get me going. I have found the basic wiring diagrams but I’m unclear as to set up for micro stepping if that will assist with smoothness.
If anyone has ever run a stepper this slow or can otherwise assist with any insight, it will be greatly appreciated. I have much to learn, this is a new world for me
(fwiw I’m a mechanical tech by trade (25+ yrs) and soldering is not a problem for me)

Components on order:
Arduino Uno R3
Pololu item #: 1200 Stepper Motor
Pololu A4988 stepper motor driver carrier with voltage regulators
330 uF capacitor

Are you sure your stepper motor is strong enough? A stepper motor will be easier to code the speed though, because it either runs at the speed you tell it to, or stalls.

The “acellstepper” library will be your friend. It works at low speed very well. The first revisions of the library did not, but I believe they’ve fixed it. You can look up “acellstepper telescope driver” for some people doing crazy slow movements with that library:P

Microstepping will be smoother. But my guess is you want a gearbox between the stepper motor and whatever you’re turning, and that will smooth out the motion better and get you more torque as I’d expect you’d need for anything large.