Pan & Tilt Project

I am new to this realm of electronics and will be attempting what I think Is a relatively easy project to get started. I am building a pole camera to video my daughters soccer games. Here is what I am trying to accomplish. I want to use a Turnigy 9x RC transmitter and receiver I currently own to control the pan and tilt. I will be using a servo controlled pan and tilt with the camcorder mounted on it. I believe I want to convert the RC servos to continuous rotation, or basically just a standard gear motor once the pot is removed. It was suggested that I use the Pololu Trex Jr to control the motors. Looking at this controller it appears I just need to go from the RC receiver into the RC input channels and the servo motors attached to the motor 1 and 2 outputs. For those with a little more knowledge, will I need to do anything more. I am trying to accomplish control of the pan and tilt via the spring loaded joysticks. I do not want the motors returning to the “zero” point when the joystick is released. I also want the motor to travel both forward and reverse, as well as for the speed to increase in either direction the father the joystick travels away from zero. Again, I apologize for my lack of knowledge at this point and hope someone can help me out on this.

The good news is that many people have documented Pan & Tilt projects. I suggest looking them up online, do a thorough search and you’ll find a ton of project builds.

The “bad” news is just to warn you that it’s not actually a very easy project. It’s not impossible, but just know it’s somewhat ambitious. The biggest thing is that you might need to be ready for a blown motor or stripped gear, if your settings are too aggressive in the beginning or your control loop is otherwise incorrect.